view cart menu separator categories menu separator faq
advanced search
I am 27 years of age, married with a 2 year old daughter. It was while trying to balance my life between family, home and working as a real estate agent, that I realized I was not enjoying life. So I left real estate and redirected my interests into my love for creating jewellery. Our new home in has a very large basement with a room that has become my main work area and lots of space to expand.

The internet became an invaluable source as I searched out web sites of individual artists and later discovered Etsy. I am largely self-taught, taking courses as I can through schools such as Haliburton School of Arts. My designs are my own although occasionally a family member comes up with an idea which I can translate into my style. In fact I have learned and been inspired over the years by my mother, a photographer, spinner and weaver.

I have been working out of my home for 12 months now and joined Etsy in January 2007. Although I have a web site my main source of sales is Etsy. I am able to work from home while my daughter is in daycare three days a week. My sales on Etsy are my full part-time job. I love it!

My work is in sterling silver or 14k gold-fill, with or without the use of gemstones. Most of my designs are very simple and organic.

The hardest part of working from home is separating yourself from daily life. I find it hard to discipline myself, not so much to get to work, but to get out of my home office to the house end of life.

But you must always remember you have a life. It is called family and friends. They are as important to your development as an artist and the time you spend on the internet or reading books and magazines.
Last Updated: 6 Feb 2008 19:57:24 PST home  |  about  |  terms  |  contact
Powered by eCRATER - a free online store builder